Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7
Gloucester Circuit of the Methodist Church Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 G51
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1825-1910, of the Gloucester Circuit of the Virginia Conference of the Methodist Church which covered Gloucester County and part of King and Queen County, Va. Includes minutes of quarterly conference meetings for the circuit; Sunday School class records; and building committee records. Acc. 2003.16 is a photocopy of a register, 1879-1885, of baptisms, marriages and members. Acc. 2012.382 is a register of members of the Gloucester Circuit of the Methodist Church,...
Dates:
1825-1910
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Fairfax Harrison Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates:
1736-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
James Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 81 J23
Scope and Contents
Correspondence of Cyrus Rosser James (1855-1937), Methodist minister in Virginia (on the Buckingham, Heathsville, North Mecklenburg and Whitestone Charges), with his family including his wife, Annie (Shields) James and his children. Also includes account books, accounts, photographs, scrapbooks, printed books and postcards.
Dates:
1826-1914
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jones Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 J71
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1826-1916, of the Jones family of "Land's End," Gloucester County, Virginia, and related families of Curtis, Taliaferro, Page and Harrison. Includes correspondence, genealogical notes, obituaries, legal files, real estate material, notes concerning Land's End, Petsworth Parish (Gloucester County), Yorktown, and the homes of the Cringan family and the Mackenzie family, and Bible records of the Jones and Fauntleroy families.The first two accessions, which compose the bulk...
Dates:
1826-1916
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert Nelson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 N34
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, sermons, essays and accounts of Robert Nelson, Protestant Episcopal missionary to Shanghai, China. The collection Includes two account books, a lettercopy book, and articles written by Nelson as well as two manuscript Chinese-English dictionaries compiled by Nelson. Some items, such as a "Count of Missionaries and Staff in China, 1807-1874" illuminate the history of missionaries in China. There is one letter written to Nelson in which the writer has used Wade-Giles...
Dates:
1845-1897; Majority of material found in 1845-1885
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Selden Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00934
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1772-1799, of Anglican minister William Selden (1741-1783) and his wife Mary Ann Hancock Selden (1745-1789) of Elizabeth City County, Virginia. These papers are primarily financial in nature and document the Selden family's management of the Elizabeth City Parish, the family estate, slave holdings, and the hire of estate slaves to local plantation owners. These papers consist of receipts, labor contracts, financial summaries, and a small leather financial ledger. The labor contracts...
Dates:
1771-1799
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center